Saturday Book Review – Anne Of Green Gables

hw_anne_of_green_gables_cover3

If I had to choose one favorite author of all time, it really, really might be L. M. Montgomery. I have great heaping piles of her books, gathered from thrift stores and yard sales. I’m re-reading Anne of Green Gables for the thousandth time.

When I was younger, I most identified with Marilla – yes, really – but now I think I’m shaping into more of a Mrs. Rachel Lynde. Embroidering while dictating novels is the new knitting cotton-warp quilts and keeping an eye on the neighbors, right? Passing cheerful judgement over everyone, ruling my household with an iron will and a can of preserves. I like it.

Okay, okay, that’s a little silly, but my problem here is that I have no actual idea how to review this book. This isn’t just a novel, it’s an institution. If you haven’t read it, I’m totally baffled as to why, and I don’t know how to convince you. It’s laugh-out-loud funny, it’s sweet but Marilla’s sarcasm saves it from being entirely saccharine, and it has a lot of little domestic details that you can really delight over.

If you have never read Anne of Green Gables, give it a try, and if you have, do yourself a favor. Pour a cup of tea or cocoa and curl up under a quilt with it. Read your favorite scene or three. Maybe, unlike me, you’ll be able to stop there…

Leave a Reply

