Poppy’s First Quilt – Cutting!

Okay, let’s be real here. Cutting sucks. Maybe it will stop sucking eventually, but damn, I hate this part. I told my husband last night that I was pretty sure I was going to hate every part of quilting except actually having the finished quilt. Only then I remembered that I actually like ironing, so there would be one part I liked.

I think I’m hilarious, so I texted my mother-in-law the same thing, and she replied “Only you and my Grandma Edna like ironing. In the world.” Come on, that can’t be right? It’s not just me? Maybe?

So, anyways, I was all ready to start cutting, until I realized… I didn’t have a cutting mat. Sure, I had a rotary cutter, but no mat. I could have run out to the store, but I was cheap frugal and lazy. I made my own.

No, this isn’t permanent. Yes, I’ll probably look back on it and cringe… but you know, it’s working fine.

2015-10-19 20.59.21_01

So, I have my cutting mat, and I even made a template on it in tape. That’s making it a lot easier to cut! You can see my messy piles up there – scraps worth saving, and stuff yet to be cut. My pile of cut squares was out of the shot.

2015-10-20 13.38.53

Even more piles! It’s getting messier, because I’m going through my fabric stash and choosing more fabrics to go with the main fabrics I had picked in my first post. I’m trying to get all the cutting done in three days so that I can put the fabric away and have my dining room back.

2015-10-20 13.39.07

With bonus toddlers running around, I haven’t been able to get a good shot of my stack of squares, but there it is.

Thirty out of a hundred down.

Shoot me now.

Leave a Reply

